You might not know it, but you have a story, too.

everywhere-wonderYou don’t have to look very far in my past posts to realize that I love picture books about imagination.  Over the years, I have bored countless friends and roommates and scholarship committees with my story about the red shoes an Indian graduate student of my dad’s gave me when I was five.  They were sparkly, pointy and 100% wonderful, in case you have somehow missed hearing about that particular memory of mine.  Why did I dream of joining the Peace Corps?  Why did I try to learn so many languages beyond English?  (French, German, Spanish, Esperanto, Thai, Vietnamese, a little bit of Arabic, and I think I’m forgetting one.  Sadly, what I speak of them now is very limited.)  Why did I think writing a senior thesis on that six-week trip I took on my own was such a good idea?  Red shoes.

There are no red shoes in this book, but there is a lot of imagination and a lot of traveling around the world, which also makes it pretty darn wonderful.  Look at all these amazing and intriguing places and things!  Sockeye salmon!  Pyramids!  Shirley from Sheboygan!  Gardens without plants! The moon!  And one polar bear that walks off the page.  What a joy to read to little ones or just to our solitary adult selves!  We can all use a little escape and a lot of imagination right now, right?

(P.S. Just to be clear, the title of this post is a direct quote from the book.)

Everywhere, Wonder by Matthew Swanson and Robbi Behr

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

