2016 – Moving on…

I read A LOT of middle grade books.   I sometimes felt like I wasn’t coming across books that fit with my mood this year, but then I look at my list of favorites, and I realize it was a pretty great year.  Maybe my favorites just shone so strongly that it was hard for others to stand up by comparison?  Maybe I missed some really good stuff?  Hard to know.

My middle grade favorites of 2016:

The Wild Robot by Peter Brown

Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo

The Inquisitor’s Tale by Adam Gidwitz and Hatem Aly

The Best Man, Richard Peck

What Elephants Know by Eric Dinerstein

Ghost, Jason Reynolds

It Ain’t So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas

Fuzzy by Tom Angleberger and Paul Dellinger

The Littlest Bigfoot by Jennifer Weiner

Maybe a Fox by Kathi Appelt and Alison McGhee

Spaced Out by Stuart Gibbs

Mark of the Plague: A Blackthorn Key Adventure by Kevin Sands

Framed!: a TOAST Mystery by James Ponti

Nine, ten: a September 11 story by Nora Raleigh Baskin

Audacity Jones to the Rescue by Kirby Larson

The Seventh Wish by Kate Messner

The Terrible Two Get Worse by Mac Barnett, Jory John and Kevin Cornell

Wonder Women: 25 Innovators, Inventors, and Trailblazers Who Changed History by Sam Maggs & Sophia Foster-Dimino

Some Writer: The Story of E.B. White by Melissa Sweet

The Boy Who Became Buffalo Bill: Growing Up Billy Cody in Bleeding Kansas by Andrea Warren

Compass South by Hope Larson and Rebecca Mock

Lucy & Andy Neanderthal by Jeffrey Brown

Mighty Jack, Ben Hatke

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

