6 so far – middle grade favorites of 2016

I haven’t been reading as much this summer as I have in the past, but in looking back at the spring, I can see that it’s still been a wonderful year for middle grade books.  As a recap, here are some faves of the first half or so of 2016.  (My previous “reviews” are linked to the titles — sometimes I end up writing less about the actual book than you might expect for a “book review.”)

Raymie Nightingale – Kate DiCamillo

It Ain’t So Awful, Falafel – Firoozeh Dumas

The Seventh Wish – Kate Messner

Poison is Not Polite – Robin Stevens

Maybe  a Fox – Kathi Appelt with Allison McGhee

The Wild Robot – Peter Brown

How can it already be the beginning of August?  I’ll start volunteering at my neighborhood elementary school again soon, switching out fifth grade for kindergarten but staying with the library and third grade.  Before you know it, a new crop of 9th graders will be showing up after school at the library.  I’ll find out some of my favorite  story time kids have headed to kindergarten, and we’ll start seeing more adults who have headed back to college but need help with research projects.  Time just flies along, but fortunately, there are more good books still in the stack.  Next?  Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

