My weakness for Brian Selznick

marvels cover 2

When I heard that a new Brian Selznick (The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Wonderstruck) was coming out, I admit it. I pre-ordered. Months in advance. Months! Finally, my extremely handsome new friend arrived. I waited a few days to read it, knowing that it would be over too soon. I took it with me to show off to some of the 5th graders I volunteer with. They didn’t exactly “ooh” and “ahhh”, but I did hear one say, “Cool.” Well, ok. I am not cynical enough to be a 5th grader, I guess.

I love Brian Selznick’s work. Love, love, love it. The art draws you into the story. The story connects back to the art. Before you know it, the visual and verbal blend into something more than. More than what? I don’t exactly know, but I don’t care, either. “Reading” his work is a different kind of literary experience and such a rare and wonderful one. What is truth? What is fiction? Does it matter if you are loved and love?

I know that when I go back through it again, I’ll find details in the art which I missed before. I know the story will resonate with me in a different way. And I’ll still love it.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “My weakness for Brian Selznick

  1. I’ve only read Hugo so far, but I adored it! I actually shied away from it for a while because of the movie. I didn’t see it, but it just didn’t look interesting to me. Maybe the trailers were misleading. But I found the book this summer in a Little Free Library and took it.
    Oh. My. Goodness. I devoured it. I can’t wait to read his other books, but they are a little pricey and I move around so much for my job, it’s hard to use the library system. But they’re both definitely on my TBR list. Love him!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

