One year – 1,086 books

Last year, I checked out at least 1,086 books from my local library. That’s not counting e-books I checked out through the online library, or the extras that came into our house through the school library, book clubs or other means. I check out some books for other people in my house, and some are cookbooks or gardening books or other things I just feel like skimming through. However, I’m guessing I read almost half of those books, maybe 500 for the year.

500? That seems like kind of a lot, doesn’t it? How could I read that many books in a year? Really, it’s not that hard. I read a lot. I love to read. I frequently wake up at 2 or 3 in the morning and read my way through the night. I read a lot of picture books and middle grade books and sometime teen books. They’re not all 771 pages, like The Goldfinch, although I read that, too. Usually I prefer the kids’ books, however, and usually they’re a lot shorter.

While looking over 2014’s 1,086 library books, I jotted down my favorites, and without even trying, I hit 55. I’m not evaluating them on their literary merit or their sales. I don’t have years of experience in the publishing industry. They’re just books I liked for one reason or another. I came across them at a time when they brought me joy.

I’ve split them into rough categories, but I’m by no means an expert there, either.

Younger readers

Mix It Up, Hervé Tullet

The Book With No Pictures, B.J. Novak

The Farmer and the Clown, Marla Frazee

Princess in Black, Shannon Hale & Dean Hale

The Pilot and the Little Prince, Peter Sís

Middle grade and early teen

Battle for Wondla, Tony DiTerlizzi

The Witch’s Boy, Kelly Barnhill

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy, Karen Foxlee

Under the Egg, Laura Marx Fitzgerald

The Glass Sentence, S. E. Grove

A Snicker of Magic, Natalie Lloyd

Cartwheeling in Thunderstorms, Katherine Rundell

The Categorical Universe of Candice Phee, Barry Jonsberg

Space Case, Stuart Gibbs

Greenglass House, Kate Milford

I Lived on Butterfly Hill, Marjorie Agosín

Poached, Stuart Gibbs

The Return of Zita the Spacegirl, Ben Hatke

Now Look What You’ve Done, Stephan Pastis

Young adult

The Boundless, Kenneth Oppel

Hollow City, Ransom Rigss

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place, Julie Berry

Revolution, Deborah Wiles

Mortal Heart, Robin LaFevers

Waistcoats & Weaponry, Gail Carriger

The Graveyard Book, Vol. 1 &2 (graphic), Neil Gaiman & P. Craig Russell

Cress, Marissa Meyer

Skink No Surrender, Carl Hiaasen

The Summer I Saved the World – in 65 Days, Michele Weber Hurwitz

We Were Liars, E. Lockhart

Youth Nonfiction

Searching for Sarah Rector, Tonya Bolden

Feathers: Not Just for Flying, Melissa Stewart

The Port Chicago 50, Steve Sheinkin

The Girl from the Tar Paper School, Teri Kanefield

Angel Island: Gateway to Gold Mountain, Russell Freedman

Hidden: a Child’s Story of the Holocaust, Loïc Dauvillier

Hidden Like Anne Frank: Fourteen True Stories of Survival, Marcel Prins & Peter Henk Steenhuis

Freedom Summer: the 1964 Struggle for Civil Rights in Mississippi, Susan Goldman Rubin

Shooting at the Stars: The Christmas Truce of 1914, John Hendrix

Adult fiction

Mermaids in Paradise, Lydia Millet

Station Eleven, Emily St. John Mandel

The Book of Strange New Things, Michael Faber

The Shadow Hero, Gene Luen Yang

Landline, Rainbow Rowell

A Star for Mrs. Blake, April Smith

The Long Way Home, Louise Penny

Big Little Lies, Liane Moriarty

Bark (short stories), Lorrie Moore

The Outcast Dead, Elly Griffiths

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, Gabrielle Zevin

Adult nonfiction

Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy, Karen Abbot

Neil Patrick Harris – Choose Your Own Autobiography, Neil Patrick Harris

Yes, Please, Amy Poehler

As You Wish, Cary Elwes

A Village of Secrets, Caroline Morehead

The Bully Pulpit, Doris Kearns Goodwin

The Madwoman in the Volvo, Sandra Tsing Loh

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “One year – 1,086 books

  1. love this!! Happy New Year 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

